I decided to attend the “Migration Justice: Beyond Rhetoric” panel discussion. I chose this simply because the challenges faced by minorities have always interested me, both in literature and politics. I neglected to read the post fully and assumed there would be professors speaking on the subject with their expertise. However, I was delighted by the first-hand experiences that were presented. By that, I don’t mean I was glad these individuals had to go through the challenges of language barriers and other struggles, but that I was given the opportunity to listen to the stories of such individuals.

I really enjoyed listening to Chijioke and his experience coming to America. I can’t imagine moving countries when I was that young. I think it is wonderful that he and many others are doing so well as migrants. I believe that migration is an important issue and we need to insure that those people have the same rights and access to certain resources that other Americans have. Furthermore, I love what Professor Sweeny is doing and providing some of those resources in forms of lawyers.

I thought it was great to have on of Loyola’s own up on the stage as well. I think that created a sense of realization at how close this issue is to us. We may not know it, but people all around us could have been born in another country and faced difficulties when moving

