In Plato, Gorgias, Socrates claims that “if the worst thing for a criminal is to commit crimes (except that, if you could have a worse than worst, it would be worse for him not to be punished for the wrong he does).” Initially, I found this passage confusing and I had to analyze this text in a more inclusive way. However, after I reflected on this statement, I realized what Socrates was declaring to Callicles.

In this passage, Socrates straightforwardly claims that it is worse if a criminal commits a crime and is not punished for it, rather than a criminal getting away with the crime and not getting punished. It is still considered to be cruel when a criminal commits a crime, however, if a criminal gets away with the crime and does not get punished for his actions, it is worse because the criminal is not realizing what he did wrong, unless he gets punished for his crime that he committed.

This passage caught my attention because it consisted of a statement that I agree with. “If the worst thing for a criminal is to commit crimes (except that, if you could have a worse than worst, it would be worse for him not to be punished for the wrong he does).” Overall, this claim told my Socrates is a statement that I agree with, and now I know why Socrates makes this certain claim.

 

 

