In Plato, Gorgias, Socrates makes the claim that, “it follows that the good in some form should be the goal of pleasant activities, rather than pleasure being the goal of good activities.” Initially, I found this passage confusing and I had to closely analyze this statement in a more inclusive way a couple of times. However, after I reflected on this text, I realized what Socrates was trying to claim to Callicles.

In this passage, Socrates makes the assertion that the goal of a pleasant activity to someone should only be respected or followed by the good. This idea should be the case instead of rather having pleasure being the main goal of good activities. The good should be the reason for doing anything, in which all activities aim at the good. The form of good should not be directed at anything else, but the only goal of someone’s activity.

This passage caught my attention because it included the idea of having the form of good be the goal for a specific pleasant activity, instead of having pleasure being the goal of activities. “It follows that the good in some form should be the goal of pleasant activities, rather than pleasure being the goal of good activities.” Overall, I agree with Socrates claim and I see the reason why he makes this specific claim.

 

