In Plato, Gorgias, Socrates makes the claim to Polus that “in my opinion, it takes true goodness to make a man or a woman happy, and an immoral, wicked person is unhappy.” Originally, I found this passage confusing and worded differently than usual, and I had to analyze this statement in a more inclusive way. However, after I reflected on this text, I realized what Socrates was claiming to Polus.

In this passage, Socrates directly claims that in order for a good moral man or woman to be happy, it takes true goodness to occur in their life. A moral individual won’t be happy with their life unless something good happens to them with true goodness. A moral person will only take true goodness to make them happy. However, an immoral, wicked or terrific person will be unhappy with their life. Even though the individual is wicked, he or she still is immortal, therefore they will be unhappy.

This passage caught my attention because it incorporated true goodness to make an individual happy, and an immoral person unhappy. I now have a better understanding of what Socrates is claiming, “in my opinion, it takes true goodness to make a man or a woman happy, and an immoral, wicked person is unhappy.” From Socrates argument, I now know why he claims this as his opinion.

