Ginnie Durkin

Reading Response

November 23, 2015

This weeks reading gave me a new perspective on rhetoric.  I found a lot of clarification when Gorgias was talking about rhetorics strength in a courtroom.  In a courtroom, lawyers are paid to use limited information to win a case.  A good lawyer is well spoken, and I feel like rhetoric helps them become even stronger when they don’t have the tangible evidence to support their case.  I agree that the use of rhetoric is not used to prove a fact, it is rather used to be persuasive.

In order to be effectively persuasive in a courtroom then one must be able to take the information they have and present it in a way that is not arguable.  With the use of the rhetoric you state information as if it is a fact, which can be intimidating to opposing sides.  There are many different uses of persuasive language but I feel like the rhetoric is the most effective.  I think this because I think that the rhetoric forces you to speak with a level of confidence in order to properly use it.

