Aristotle’s take on pleasure has made me reevalute the ideas which I’ve held regarding pleasure. In Book X, Aristotle addresses pleasure and the way in which he classifies pleasure is what makes me rethink it and it’s definition.

Throughout my life, I have thought of pleasure as just a vague term for something which provides joy. I’ve never taken it beyond the generic term of noun. In his writing, Aristotle classifies pleasure as an activity, which-in theory-is a type of noun and therefore doesn’t necessarily go against my previous beliefs. However, it is how Aristotle was able to prove pleasure was not a process got to me. Aristotle writes how pleasure is not a process because there is no end to reach, there is nothing being strived for.

Previously, I had thought of pleasure as something which allows us to reach happiness. I saw the two terms as connected but not sinonimous. Aristotle, however, does not establish a necessary link between the two. There is no cause and effect relationship. Instead, Aristotle relates pleasure to the theory of forms and simply says there are many forms for pleasure.

Aristotle’s discussion of pleasure forced me to reevalute what pleasure truly is to me and how to define it. His classification of the term brought to light a new aspect of the term that I had not explored yet and opened my eyes to a new philosophical perspective.

