Last weekend we took a trip to the Baltimore Symphony Orchestra for Messina. This was my first experience at a professional concert hall listening to classical music that wasn’t played either online or at a high school concert. Overall, I really enjoyed my experience. I thought that the performance went by quickly and I actually recognized most of the music that the orchestra played.

What I enjoyed the most about the performance was the woman speaking before each piece was played. Each piece represented a different season; Winter, Spring, Summer, and Fall. I found that the music actually did depict the seasons well. I liked that the speaker broke down each part of each composition so that we could hear all of the different instruments play the different parts that made up each season. The speaker made the show more interesting so that when the whole composition was being played I could actually make out the sounds of the different instruments, which I probably could not have done if it had not been broken down beforehand. Overall, I was pleasantly surprised by this performance and really enjoyed it. I did not think that I would ever be able to sit still for over an hour and listen to classical music and like it, but I did.

