Aristotle explains that there are two kinds of people. There are those who fear and those who are fearless. In his assertions I found it very interesting because of the manner in which he came to define these two kinds of people that I thought I already had a good understanding of.

I found Aristotle’s assertions so interesting because I had never thought of fear in the manner in which he described it before. His philosophical logic caused me to question the definition of fear that I have to come to know so well today. He believes that someone who had fear is someone who is to be considered “right and fine”. However, one who does not have fear should be shameful because they have no feeling of humility or disgrace. He also brings into question the meaning of fear in certain situations. For example, Aristotle says that most males are afraid of acting in aggression towards women in children, but this does not make them cowardly. On the flip side, if a man was not fearful being aggressive, would that really make him brave? It is these questions that make this certain assertion from Aristotle very interesting and noteworthy.

Fear and bravery are not two terms that can be described so easily. There are many intricacies that go into the makeup of what defines them.

