After first reading the play, Clybourne Park, as well as seeing it performed, it was only well suited to continue the discussion by sitting down with the author himself Bruce Norris. The lecture was staged as more of an interview where Norris was asked questions both about his life and about the play. He explained how he grew up with white privilege and how it shaped his thoughts to which he wrote the play. Norris claimed that the play was a way of almost shaping a frustration towards the white people in which he was surrounded during his youth. He said that people such as his father believed stereotypes as ludicrous as black people live in the south because they dislike the cold. He elaborated this claim by stating that these ideologies come from both the period and environment in which one is brought up. Growing up in Texas during the 1970’s, these views are not entirely surprising. But to much of the almost disappointment of many, Norris defended the use of offensive humor to some extent. If people didn’t make humor offensive to someone, than almost nothing would be funny. He was not saying that anyone can just say whatever anti-Semitic or racist joke they want but rather that the world is grey. Just as radical beliefs are not just, overly sensitive beliefs to the point of a suppression of voice is also unjust. I resented well with this idea although I too am a product of white male privilege but that was not my choice nor Bruces. The world you are brought into shapes your ideas and your perceptions on others. Norris understands that it is seemingly impossible to offend a white male while it is easier for one to offend a black woman due to the history of the world and the influences history has had on each. One in the crowd asked, “What can we do to change that and start a conversation?” Norris replied along the lines of, “I’m really not sure, I’m not sure we can, I guess I’m sort of a pessimist.” All in all, I really liked Bruce Norris. He was well educated and has a great sense of humor. But then again, I myself am a white male who has grown up in a society where I am entitled.

