Ginnie Durkin

November 11, 2015

Book III blog post

Book III describes the difference between involuntary, voluntary, and nonvoluntary actions. I felt like Aristotle’s definition of an involuntary action was very interesting because the way I view involuntary actions is by doing an action without thinking about it. In Aristotle’s definition of an involuntary action he says that it is an action that is performed under compulsion and causes pain to the person acting. He also says that there are less severe cases where someone can be compelled to do something dishonorable under threat.

According to Aristotle an involuntary action is impulsive rather than natural. This led me to question: is impulsiveness a natural reaction? With the reading of book III I think that I am convinced it is a natural reaction because of his use in description of ignoring someone as an involuntary action. I think that when ignoring someone, your brain automatically causes you to block them out of sight, and you immediately avoid something that would cause you stress or other negative feelings. Although you might feel as though you need to process the idea to ignore someone, I think once you are put into the physical situation where it is necessary that your body impulsively avoids the object or thing you are avoiding.

