This past Saturday, I was able to experience viewing and listening to the Baltimore Symphony Orchestra at the Meyerhoff Theatre. I was unaware of which composer or which music would be played prior to the event, but after receiving my ticket I discovered that Vivaldi’s Four Seasons was being showcased.

Not only did I get to listen to the well-known notes written by the famous composer, but I was able to learn background information on each season before the orchestra began to play. The conductor gave information on Vivaldi and his thought process at the time when his work was composed, stopping between performances of each season to explain what the different notes and sounds about to be performed represented.

I have heard Vivaldi’s Four Seasons before, but never in its entirety before Saturday night. Knowing what each different note represented, whether it be a spring thunderstorm, a summer wind, an autumn harvest, or a winter snowfall, really helped me to picture such scenes as the notes were played. This, I would say, most definitely deepened my appreciation for classical music, as well as broadened my understanding of the meaning and complexity behind each distinct sound created by the plethora of notes and instruments. Hearing this famous work performed live, along with seeing how many instruments were involved in performing Vivaldi’s piece, in a way that the musicians portrayed as effortless, made it difficult for me to even fathom how much time and effort these musicians, let alone Vivaldi, must have put into perfecting this extraordinary music.

