This past weekend, I, along with several of my classmates took a trip to the Joseph Meyerhoff Symphony Hall to listen to Vivaldi. It was performed on by the Baltimore Symphony Orchestra. It was quite an experience.

To be perfectly honest, I did not know what to expect as I have never been to a symphony before. I have never really been fascinated with going to symphonies or plays so I was hoping this would change that. The introduction was very good as it helped explain who Vivaldi was which was good as I had never heard of him and also what his music consisted of. When the orchestra started playing the Spring portion I was intrigued as I recognized the song immediately. This would make me more interested in the remainder as I hoped I would recognize some more. Unfortunately, I did not until sometime during Winter when I thought I heard the theme song to Jaws. It was not but this reference kept my interest until the very end.

This was quite an eye-opening experience for me as I was exposed to culture that I would not have exposed myself to on my own. It was an enjoyable experience that was made by the conductor who explained Vivaldi’s life. By doing this, it gave people like me a chance to get some background on what I was going to see before they started playing.

