Upon reading Aristotle’s first book on the Metaphysics, I’ve came to acknowledge his claim of human beings having a natural desire to know. It especially relates to my liking to fishing. Aristotle says that apart from their usefulness we like them for themselves, in a sense genuinely. The desire to know mostly stems from our sense of sight and hearing and from the use of these senses comes knowledge. From this knowledge, we gain experience and memories. From these, we produce a craft. Yet, inexperience only produces luck. I reflected on this pertaining to my life in the 17 years I’ve been fishing. In a sense, fishing requires all these aspects. No matter how long one has fished, one just needs a little bit more luck than the next guy for a more successful outing. In Aristotle’s example he uses a doctor to provide an example. If the doctor has knowledge, more often than not he’ll be able to treat the ailment. On the other hand, if the doctor has very little experience then it could result in the wrong treatment. The comprehension of the craft is more in part of experience. The sign that distinguishes one who knows and one who doesn’t is the ability to teach the craft. Aristotle goes on to say that this knowledge that we pursue is a result of wonder. Reflecting back onto that, I’ve always wondered as to why I’ve been fishing since I was two. The water has always peaked my curiosity as to what lies under the ocean’s surface. He says that its pursued for its own sake not for further use. To me fishing is very much a craft as it requires all these aspects to mend together. Usually when one thinks of fishing, its for food. Yet, fishing is a craft pursued by many for the sport. So much so for being out on the water and trying which is why many continue to do so amidst dry seasons. Although wisdom arises from wonder and removes wonder, with a boundless ocean that’s been explored little by man that wonder is almost infinite.

