One part of the passage that especially interested me was in Zeno of Elea. Zeno and Socrates are discussing something about things that are like and unalike and things that are many. I was very confused when reading this passage. I think the reason for my confusion is because the wording of the second was an extreme tongue twister and kind of a riddle.

In this passage, Socrates asks Zeno, “if things that are are many, they must therefore be both like and unlike, but this is impossible. For unlike things cannot be like, nor can like things be unlike.” (67). It is hard to understand what Socrates is saying here just because he uses the words unlike, like and things over and over in the same sentence, which makes it kind of unclear to me. It makes sense to me that like things cannot be unlike and unlike things cannot be like, but I don’t get the concept of things that are many.

The reason that I chose this passage was because the confusing wording of it caught my eye and I was curious as to what it meant and want to understand. Looking at it in my own way, I disagree that it is impossible for things to be both like and unlike. For example, a dog can be the same color as another dog, but they can be different sizes, making them both like and unlike. This might be the concept of the “many”, but I don’t understand why they said it was impossible.

