After reading Heraclitus of Ephesus I was intrigued about a few of his quotes in the book. The first passage that caught my attention was “Eyes and ears are bad witnesses to people if they have barbarian souls (Sextus Empiricus, Against the Mathematics 7.126) “. Barbarian meaning the people that do not speak Greek and thus cannot understand what they are saying. The person that does not speak Greek is probably a foreigner that probably does not understand customs either. Therefore, they cannot understand what they hear or how people act (what they see). So having a person that has a “barbarian soul” as a witness does not really help, and even if they say they could understand something, they could easily misinterpret something. The next phrase that caught my attention was “eyes are more accurate than ears (Polybius, Histories 12.27.1) “. It is similar to the other one, but compares which one is best. I agreed with this quote when I heard it because, seeing things you can actually analyze the person’s intention while when we hear things we can misinterpret it more easily. These quotes relate to each other, but are different in a way. I guess they caught my attention because someone who sees and hears things can be your witness, but cannot help you at times if they think differently than you do. The last phrase that I liked most was “All that can be seen, heard, experienced – these are what I prefer (Hippolytus, Refutation of All Heresies 9.9.5)”. This is the phrase I most liked since it reminded of basic things you do everyday that help you enjoy simple things of life. Waking up and being able to see and hear a new day and then experiencing it.

