The first reading of this book did not challenge my comprehension, but it challenged my vocabulary a little bit.  I found that there were a lot of terms that I was not familiar with, and it made these short readings a little slower, however; these readings made more sense than the readings on Aristotle.  In the first section of Thales, it was clear that his beliefs of the universe were not necessarily based on the gods, but more on the foundation of nature.  He believed that water generated all things.  This was different than what Anaximander believed.

I focused deeply on Anaximander’s beliefs which were circled around the idea of the “heavens and gods”.   I found reading that passage, it was more of the stereotypical greek philosopher route.  When he was talking about when destruction happens, I found it very interesting that he connected it back to time.  When I think of destruction I think of it as a human based violence, and to be able to read a different point of view on what destruction was described as to a philosopher I found that mind blowing.  Anaximander thought of the world physically getting destroyed by the heavens and the world.

