This reading was pretty appealing to me. I think the reason for this is because we have been talking about a lot of similar stuff, making the information in the reading a little bit easier to read. While reading, there were parts here and there that caught my eye, but I wasn’t able to really get a good grasp on them all. One particular passage that stood out to me was early on in the introduction when they are explaining what the presocratics are.

Early on in the introduction, the reader gets some basic insight on Thales and Anaximander, two of the first presocratics. They share similar beliefs and values not only amongst themselves, but also Aristotle, someone that we have recently learned much about. If there is one thing that has stuck with me through our recent topics, it is the idea of claiming you know something you know. At the bottom of page four it says, “… but how could they claim to have knowledge about an original or basic state of the universe, which they have never experienced?” What this is saying that it is impossible to really have knowledge of something without any prior experience or sensation. Thinking that you know something when you don’t really know it is what Thales and Anaximander are tackling in this passage.

To me, this stood out because of what we have been learning about Aristotle and Plato’s critical thinking, and how they brought up the point that you can’t truly know something without experiencing it, which in my understanding, now, is very true.

