The reading on the syllogism listed 3 steps to determine whether an argument is valid or invalid. I found this reading initially confusing, but after reading it few times, enlightening and smart and practical method to use it almost everywhere.

In order to determine whether it is valid or not, we need two premisses, a major and a minor, and a conclusion. The first step is to identify the conclusion. The second step is to find the premisses and put the syllogism into standard order and form. Major premiss contains the major term (P) and minor premiss contains the minor term (S). Standard form is classified as A, E, I, O: as learned in categorical proposition. Standard order is major premiss first, minor premiss second and the conclusion. After this process, the third step is to test the syllogism by using Venn Diagrams. We diagram both the major and minor premises and see if the conclusion is found in the diagram.

This method caught my attention because of two reasons. First reason is because it was enlightening. I did know that we were able to distinguish between valid and invalid argument with categorical propositions form in previous class but I did not know this thorough method existed. How a normal argument can be put into philosophy and logic with professional terms were fascinating. Second reason is because this is practical method that we can use in everyday life. I always struggled to find good evidences and supporting arguments but this is the key. I learnt how to find the correct and valid points to support my argument. Also, I can use this method in dealing with insurance plan and any contracts to make sure that they are proposing a valid argument. This method will help me to ensure not to put myself in disadvantage and I won’t have to struggle with invalid arguments and that will harm me in anyway.

