In Leisure: The Basis of Culture, Pieper makes the claim that the purpose of leisure is not solely for a specific time, but for when one is not being committed to a certain task. At first, I had to analyze this text in a more comprehensive way because he is speaking in the language of “the worker.” I had to really put myself in the position of the worker to get a better understanding of what Pieper was portraying.

In this passage, Pieper directly states that the philosophy of leisure was brought because a time was needed for the regular worker to have free time from education, work and culture. Pieper illustrates that without leisure, the result of the worker will have demonic force, meaning the personality of the worker will have a negative impact on society.

This passage caught my attention because now I have a better understanding of what leisure fully means. I agree with Pieper’s statement about preserving freedom because the average everyday worker needs leisure in order to maintain a healthy lifestyle. Since I know the importance of leisure, I will think twice about how I spend my time and will not take leisure for granted.

